Moving EuropE Together (MEET)

Date
September 2021 - June 2022
Customer
European Policy Centre (Welcome to EPC - European Policy Centre) initiative, funded by the European Parliament
Intervention
Implementation of the strategic framework according to the modalities established by the European Policy Centre, Definition and implementation of the partnership policy, Project design, facilitation and evaluation, External communication
Initiated by the European Policy Centre, the Moving EuropE Together (MEET) project will run in parallel to the Conference on the Future of Europe and will interact with it, connecting citizens, ideas and policies across borders.

BACKGROUND AND OBJECTIVE:

Initiated by the European Policy Centre, the Moving EuropE Together (MEET) project will run in parallel to the Conference on the Future of Europe and will interact with it, connecting citizens, ideas and policies across borders. Indeed, despite its participatory intentions, the Conference on the Future of Europe does not play on the local scales of its member states. It is however essential that these territories also take part in the debate on the future of Europe, by mobilizing their inhabitants so that their voice is heard. The European Policy Center relies on a network of civil society organizations in 8 Member States. In order to address these territorial inequalities within the European deliberative process, “local citizens’ agoras” will be financed to make the voice of the territories heard. A space for dialogue between citizens and their MEPs, present during the participatory process, will also be set up. The MEPs will then be invited to bring the recommendations to the European Parliament.

MODALITIES OF THE MISSION:

Missions Publiques is organizing the implementation of two local citizens’ agoras in France and two local agoras in Germany. The latter are composed of 15-25 citizens, representative of the geographical specificities of the region. Each “local citizens’ agora” applies a participation rate of people from the “Diversity” category that amounts to a minimum of 20%. The themes of the agoras are based on those of the panels of the Conference on the Future of Europe:

  • Democracy and European Values, Security and Rule of Law
  • Climate change, environment and health
  • Economy, social justice, employment, education, youth, culture, sport, digital
  • EU in the world, migration

ADDED VALUE OF THE APPROACH :

The agoras aim to strengthen the impact and influence of local authorities in the Conference on the Future of Europe process. By encouraging citizen participation, local authorities open the way to a tangible opportunity for citizens to influence the European decision-making process which, in an ambitious perspective, could pave the way for sustainable reforms of the European Union.

This approach is also in line with the political and institutional will of the European Parliament, which is taking the opportunity to forge stronger links between its institution, its members and its citizens in the territories.

Often unknown to the general public, MEPs are a useful vector in the process to demonstrate the synergies that can be created between traditional representative democracy and participatory democracy in a cooperative approach.

Read more:

By involving MEPs into the Agoras, they will feel a closer connection to their constituencies

Our interview with Paul Butcher and Johannes Greubel both Policy Analysts at the European Policy Center

Moving EuropE Together (MEET)

Date
Septembre 2021 - Juin 2022
Client
Initiative du European Policy Centre (Welcome to EPC - European Policy Centre), financée par le Parlement européen
Intervention
Mise en œuvre du cadrage stratégique selon les modalités établies par l’European Policy Centre, Définition et mise en œuvre de la politique de partenariat, Conception, animation et évaluation du projet, Communication externe
Initié par le European Policy Centre, le projet Moving EuropE Together (MEET) se déroulera parallèlement à la Conférence sur l'avenir de l'Europe et interagira avec elle, en reliant les citoyens et citoyennes, les idées et les politiques au-delà les frontières.

Contexte et objectifs :

Initié par le European Policy Centre, le projet Moving EuropE Together (MEET) se déroulera parallèlement à la Conférence sur l’avenir de l’Europe et interagira avec elle, en reliant les citoyens et citoyennes, les idées et les politiques au-delà les frontières.

En effet, malgré ses intentions participatives, la Conférence sur l’avenir de l’Europe ne joue pas sur les échelles locales de ses Etats-membres. Il est pourtant primordial que ces territoires prennent aussi part au débat sur l’avenir de l’Europe, en mobilisant leurs habitants afin que leur voix soit entendue. Le European Policy Center s’appuie sur un réseau d’organisations de la société civile dans 8 Etats-membres. Afin d’apporter une réponse à ces inégalités territoriales au sein du processus délibératif européen, seront financés des « agoras citoyennes locales » permettant de faire entendre la voix des territoires. Un espace de dialogue entre les citoyens et citoyennes et leur eurodéputé.e.s, présent.e.s lors du processus participatif sera également mis en place, les europdéputé.e.s seront ensuite invité.e.s à porter les recommandations au sein du Parlement européen.

MODALITES DE LA MISSION :

Missions Publiques organise la mise en place de deux agoras citoyennes locales en France et deux agoras locales en Allemagne. Ces dernières comptent entre 15-25 citoyen.nne.s, représentative.es des spécificités géographiques de la région. Chaque « agora citoyen locale » applique un taux de participation de personnes issues de la catégorie « Diversité » qui s’élève à 20 % minimum. Les thématiques des agoras s’appuient sur celles des Panels de la Conférence sur l’avenir de l’Europe:

  • Démocratie et valeurs européennes, sécurité et droit
  • Changement climatique, environnement et santé
  • Economie, justice sociale, emploi, éducation, jeunesse, culture, sport, numérique
  • UE dans le monde, migration

Valeur ajoutée de la démarche :

Les agoras visent à renforcer l’impact et l’influence des collectivités locales dans le processus de la Conférence sur l’avenir de l’Europe. En encourageant la participation citoyenne, les autorités locales ouvrent la voie à une opportunité tangible pour les citoyens.nnes de peser sur le processus décisionnel européen qui, dans une perspective ambitieuse, pourraient ouvrir la voie à des réformes durables de l’Union européenne.

Cette démarche s’inscrit aussi dans une volonté politico-institutionnelle du Parlement européen qui saisit l’occasion pour tisser des liens plus fort entre son institution, ses députés.ees et ses citoyens dans les territoires.

Souvent méconnus du grand public, les députés.ées européens sont un vecteur utile dans le processus pour démonter les synergies qui peuvent se créer entre la démocratie représentative traditionnelle et la démocratie participative dans une approche coopérative.

Pour en savoir plus

Notre interview de Paul Butcher et Johannes Greubel – tous deux Policy Analysts au European Policy Center