World Wide Views on climate and energy

Date
1 January 2013 - 31 December 2016
Customer
The debate was launched by Missions Publiques in late 2013 and coordinated jointly by Missions Publiques, the Danish Board of Technology Foundation, the secretariat of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) and the French National Commission on Public Debate (CNDP). The project was backed by an international coalition of key stakeholders.
Intervention
Initiative, development and co-coordination of the whole citizens’ dialogue process with the Danish Board of Technology Foundation: debate design, coordinating partners, implementation, training partners from around the world, analysing results, and impact activities. In France: facilitating the citizens’ dialogue in Ile-de-France and coordinating the regional citizens’ dialogues.
The World Wide Views on Climate and Energy debate was the largest global citizens’ consultation in history and demonstrated that this kind of process is not only possible, but indeed relevant. The aim of the process was to let men and women from around the world have their voice heard at the Paris conference.

CONTEXT AND GOALS

The initiative for a global debate was rooted in our deeply-held conviction that, when it comes to critical issues such as climate change, citizen participation is necessary at a worldwide level, and that it can bring real added value to international negotiations. The project’s aim was twofold – to prove that it is possible to roll out a global-level consultation and to play a role in the construction of the Paris agreement, so that it was designed not only for citizens but with them.
The debate also followed the logic of Article 6 in the United National Framework Agreement on Climate Change, which encourages governments to promote “public participation in addressing climate change and its effects and developing adequate responses”.

“In 100 countries around the world, 100 citizens will come together to give their view on the main issues under negotiation. A sort of global-level citizens’ consultation.

François Hollande

President of the French Republic

PROCEDURE

This worldwide citizens’ debate was based on four fundamental pillars:

  1. Launching a coalition to coordinate and finance the project and make sure it was integrated into the official negotiating process.
  2. Rolling out a day-long debate in a maximum number of participating countries, all following the same format everywhere.
  3. Implementing an impact strategy designed to have an influence on the negotiations.
  4. A training programme and follow-up for all national partners in charge of the dialogues in their countries.

The day’s debate was divided into four or five themed sessions. An introductory video was shown to illustrate each issue to be debated, then each citizen was given a multi-choice questionnaire. Groups of five to eight citizens discussed the issues before forming working groups assisted by a facilitator at each table. At the end of each session, each citizen voted individually.

As the sessions progressed, the results were coded via an online platform and published immediately. Via the platform, results could be compared within one country and between countries and groups of countries.

OUR ADDED VALUE

The World Wide Views debate provided the international negotiations with the informed views of citizens from around the world. As such, it opened discussions between the people responsible for making decisions and those to whom they apply.
The consultation brought a long-term vision, not restricted by political cycles or national barriers.
The citizens’ debate is not a survey and produces qualitative results helping to identify key issues that are often submerged or remain vague in conventional opinion polls. It reveals citizens’ expectations, regardless of geographic or social differences.
Given the credibility of these results (citizens are well informed and have had the chance to express their views on the subject and discuss them), the debate gives policy-makers a sound basis when entering into dialogue with national or international counterparts, making them all the more aware of the issues and the stances that they take, whether or not they gain public support. The results show the extent to which citizens are ready commit.
Although the project was not specifically a “campaign”, it helped raise public awareness of the challenges and opportunities at stake. It is also an example of how to increase the legitimacy and transparency of global governance by giving ordinary citizens a chance to play an active role in decision-making processes.

“Bringing forward the views and the voices of citizens from across the globe can only contribute to a positive new universal climate agreement in Paris in December.

Christiana Figueres

Executive Secretary of the UNFCCC

KEY FIGURES

ww
0
debates
0
participating countries on five continents
0
participants
0
partners around the world

OUTCOMES

The methodology, calendar, and speed with which the results were collected had a noticeable effect on political consciences and on citizens. On the one hand, the questions each one of us has on climate and energy were addressed during this consultation, as reflected in the information material (explanatory booklet, videos and questionnaire) and in the widespread publication of the results. On the other hand, the consultation fed into the development of a model for global debate on other issues (WWviews on Space, Cop 22 West Africa). The outcome is a set of convergent expectations and red lines, laid down by the citizens for the attention of policymakers as they build on the foundations of the Paris agreement.
This kind of process has also demonstrated the relevance and feasibility of scaled-up citizen participation.

DELIVERABLES

Communication tools.
The final report.
Results summary.

CO-INITIATORS

World Wide Views on climate and energy

Date
1 janvier 2013 - 31 décembre 2016
Client
Le Débat a été lancé par Missions Publiques fin 2013 et co-coordonné par Missions Publiques, le Danish Board of Technology Foundation, le secrétariat de la Convention Cadres des Nations-Unies sur les Changements Climatiques (CNUCC – UNFCCC) et la Commission Nationale du Débat Public (CNDP). Le projet a été soutenu par une coalition internationale d’acteurs de premier plan.
Intervention
Initiative, co-élaboration et co-coordination du processus complet du dialogue citoyen avec le Danish Board of Technology Fondation : design du débat, coordination des partenaires, mise en œuvre, formation des partenaires du monde entier, analyse des résultats, activités d’impact. En France : animation du dialogue citoyen de l’Ile de France et coordinations des dialogues citoyens en régions
Le Débat Citoyen Planétaire sur le climat et l’énergie (WWViews on Climate and Energy) a été la plus large délibération citoyenne globale de l’histoire et a fait la preuve qu’un tel processus est non seulement possible mais aussi pertinent. Le processus visait à apporter la voix des citoyennes et citoyens du monde sur la table des négociations de Paris.

Contexte et objectifs

L’initiative d’un débat planétaire est née de notre conviction profonde que la participation citoyenne doit aussi avoir lieu à l’échelle globale sur des sujets critiques tels que le changement climatique et qu’elle peut apporter une valeur ajoutée aux négociations internationales. L’objectif du projet était double : faire la preuve de la possibilité de déployer une délibération d’ampleur globale et apporter une pierre à l’édifice de Paris pour que celui-ci ne soit pas fait que pour les citoyens mais aussi avec elles.

Le Débat s’inscrit en outre dans la logique de l’article 6 de la Convention cadre des Nations Unies sur les changements climatiques qui incitent les gouvernements à promouvoir « la participation publique à l’examen des changements climatiques et de leurs effets et à la mise au point de mesures appropriées pour y faire face ».

« Dans 100 pays du monde, 100 citoyens et citoyennes seront réunis pour donner leur avis sur les grands axes de la négociation. Une sorte de consultation citoyenne à l’échelle du monde.

François Hollande

Président de la République Française

Modalités de la mission

Le Débat citoyen planétaire a reposé sur 4 piliers fondamentaux :

  1. Le lancement d’une coalition pour coordonner et financer le projet et assurer son inclusion dans le processus officiel de négociation.
  2. Le déploiement dans un maximum de pays participants d’une journée de délibération suivant partout dans le monde le même format.
  3. La mise en œuvre d’une stratégie d’impact visant à avoir une influence sur les négociations.
  4. Un programme de formation et suivi pour l’ensemble des partenaires nationaux en charge des dialogues dans les pays.

La journée de délibération elle-même a suivi le format suivant : la journée est divisée en 4 à 5 sessions thématiques. Une vidéo est présentée en introduction de chaque question thématique, puis chaque citoyen se voit présenté une série de questions  sous forme de QCM (Question à Choix Multiples). Des groupes de 5 à 8 citoyens délibèrent avant de répondre en groupes de travail accompagnés par un animateur-trice à chaque table. A l’issue de chaque session, chaque citoyen vote individuellement.

Au fur et à mesure de l’avancée des réunions, les résultats sont encodés sur une plateforme sur internet et sont publiés immédiatement. Cette plateforme permet des comparaisons des résultats au sein d’un même pays mais également entre pays et groupes de pays.

Valeur ajoutée de la démarche

Le Débat Citoyen planétaire mondial permet d’informer les négociations internationales avec l’opinion éclairée des citoyens du monde.

Ce faisant il ouvre la discussion entre les personnes en charge de prendre les décisions et celles sur qui elles s’appliquent.

La délibération permet d’avoir une vision à long terme, non limitée par des cycles politiques ou des barrières nationales.

Le débat citoyen n’est pas un sondage et produit des résultats qualitatifs qui permettent d’identifier des problématiques clés qui sont souvent noyées ou imprécises dans les sondages d’opinion traditionnels. Il révèle les attentes des citoyens au-delà des différences géographiques ou sociales.

Grâce à la crédibilité des résultats (les citoyens ont été bien informés et il leur a été donné l’occasion de s’exprimer et d’échanger entre eux sur le sujet), le débat offre aux acteurs politiques une assise concrète lorsqu’il s’agit d’aborder le dialogue avec leurs collègues nationaux ou internationaux en bénéficiant d’une conscience aigüe des enjeux et positions qu’ils adoptent, qu’ils emportent ou non le soutien public. Les résultats révèlent dans quelle mesure les citoyens sont prêts à s’engager ou non.

Même si le projet n’est pas à proprement parler une campagne, il contribue à augmenter la prise de conscience publique au sujet des défis et opportunités en jeu. Il constitue également un exemple de comment accroître la légitimité et la transparence d’une gouvernance globale, en offrant aux citoyens ordinaires une occasion de participer activement aux processus décisionnels.

« Faire connaître les points de vue et les voix des citoyens du monde entier ne peut que contribuer à un nouvel accord climatique universel positif à Paris en décembre.

Christiana Figueres

Secrétaire exécutif de la CCNUCC

en chiffres

ww
0
débats
0
pays participants sur 5 continents
0
participants
0
partenaires dans le monde

Résultats

La méthodologie, le calendrier et la rapidité de collecte des résultats ont eu un effet non négligeable sur les consciences politiques mais aussi citoyennes. D’une part les questionnements de chacun sur les thèmes du climat et de l’énergie ont pu trouver un porte-voix à travers cette consultation, notamment grâce à la publication massive des résultats et de l’ensemble du matériel d’information (livret explicatif, vidéos et questionnaire). D’autre part, cette consultation a également contribué à développer le modèle de débat planétaire sur d’autre sujets (WWviews on Space, Cop 22 Afrique de l’Ouest). Il en résulte un ensemble d’attentes convergentes et de lignes rouges, dessinées par les citoyens, à l’attention des décideurs politiques pour bâtir les suites de l’accord de Paris.

Ce type de démarche a aussi permis de faire la preuve de la pertinence et de la possibilité d’une mise à l’échelle de la participation citoyenne.

livrables

Des outils de communication.
Le rapport final.
La synthèse des résultats.

co-initiateurs