EuComMeet

Date
1 March 2021 - 31 March 2024
Customer
Financier: European Commission / Coordinator: University of Siena (UNISI)
Intervention
Creation and moderation of citizens' workshops, participation in a research programme on deliberative democracy, experimentation and testing of innovative deliberative processes at several scales (local, national and international).
"How and under what conditions can deliberative and participatory processes be effective in addressing current democratic deficits and strengthening democratic legitimacy? ». This is the question that a consortium of 9 partners, including universities, research centres and Missions Publiques, will try to answer. In a new era where more participatory democracy initiatives are flourishing, the EuComMeet project wants to understand the virtues of deliberation on decision-making and political positioning of European citizens. The role of Missions Publiques will be to organise the citizens' workshops that will serve as a resource for research, to test different models of moderation and to collect citizens' opinions on several topics.

Context and objectives

Democracy in the 21st century is increasingly under pressure and the evolution of society is undermining the pillars of contemporary European democracies. There are five main trends today, which reflect dissatisfaction with the current regime: inclusion is increasingly coming back to the forefront; polarisation is increasing, with increasingly extreme positions; the notion of identity is more than ever discussed and sometimes abused; citizens now have the means to think critically, but this leads them to question other actors; politicians have less and less power and their impact is less in the face of supranational technocratic bodies. In the face of these doubts, more participatory and deliberative democracy has been presented as a solution, as evidenced by the many experiences and citizens’ initiatives launched throughout Europe over more than 10 years.

Nevertheless, this new form of democracy has not yet proved its worth, let alone convinced everyone. The EuComMeet project wishes to carry out in-depth research to understand whether and how deliberation can have an impact on decision making and in particular on the positions of individual citizens. Conducted over more than 4 years, on different scales, on different subjects but always in the light of the 5 trends mentioned above, the initiative will provide a better understanding of how deliberative democracy can be even more effective and how to implement it in the most appropriate way. Ultimately, the EuComMeet project wishes to present a “toolkit” in the form of a platform (Participatory space) that would be a reference for carrying out deliberative projects in Europe.

Terms of the mission

The first step (‘Lessons Learned’) of the mission consists of a referencing and analysis of the different deliberative processes that have already taken place, which will allow an understanding of the good practices and pitfalls already known. The aim will be to review the current state of participatory democracy in Europe, in particular with regard to the 5 criteria of analysis: inclusion, polarisation, identity, reflection and political impact.

The second step (‘Fill the gap’) is the creation and development of a citizen workshop protocol based on the lessons learned in the first step. This protocol will then be tested in schools and universities in the selected countries: Germany, France, Ireland, Italy and Poland.

In the third stage (‘Make it happen’), the test will be repeated in real life with 144 citizens, spread over 2 cities in each partner country. The role of Public Missions will be to ensure and coordinate the moderation of the workshops and the follow-up of the protocols established in the previous phases.

Added value

The EuComMeet project will be an opportunity for the world of deliberation to settle down, look back, and then know where we are going. In a fast moving world of participation, it is possible that we are missing the point and that we are going in the wrong direction or in the wrong way. In-depth, long-term research and – more importantly – a large-scale test will provide information for everyone: citizens, politicians and participation professionals.

The project has been set up so that no step, no opportunity to test approaches is missed. Thus, the research will analyse the attitudes and positions of a wide variety of citizens: young people, disconnected people, people with extreme opinions, people with disabilities, people on social networks, etc. The project will also analyse the attitudes and positions of the various stakeholders in the community. In the same way, in the method, the project wants to be innovative: citizens will be mixed with citizens from other cities and other countries, consultations will be done according to an evolutionary logic (from local to European and vice versa), will also use bots for moderation and translation. Citizens will be put in different conditions: sometimes moderate, sometimes not moderate, sometimes synchronous, sometimes asynchronous, sometimes with foreigners, sometimes with nationals. The research is therefore multiple and reflexive, with a step-by-step approach that will make it possible to test different scenarios and draw many conclusions.

Key figures

0
citizens during the workshops
0
partners and 6 universities
0
levels: local, national, and European
0
countries and 10 cities

EuComMeet

Date
Mars 2021 - Mars 2024
Client
Financeur : European Commission / Coordinateur : Universita degli studi di Siena (UNISI)
Intervention
Création et modération d’ateliers citoyens, participation à un programme de recherche sur la démocratie délibérative, expérimentation et test de processus délibératifs innovants à plusieurs échelles (local, national et international)
« Comment et sous quelles conditions les processus délibératifs et participatifs en ligne peuvent s’avérer efficaces pour résorber les déficits démocratiques actuels et renforcer la légitimité démocratique ? ». C’est à cette question qu’un consortium de 9 partenaires, rassemblant des universités, des centres de recherches et Missions Publiques, va essayer de répondre. Dans une nouvelle ère où des initiatives de démocratie plus participative fleurissent, le projet EuComMeet souhaite comprendre quelles sont les vertus de la délibération sur le positionnement politique des citoyens européens. Le rôle de Missions Publiques sera d’organiser les ateliers citoyens qui serviront de ressources pour la recherche, en testant différents modèles de composition de groupe, de cadrage des échanges et de modération tout en recueillant les opinions collectives et argumentées des citoyens sur divers sujets phare pour l’Europe.

Contexte et objectif

La démocratie du 21ème siècle est de plus en plus bousculée et l’évolution de la société a pour effet de saper les piliers traditionnels des démocraties européennes contemporaines. On constate en effet aujourd’hui cinq grande tendances, qui témoignent de l’insatisfaction face au fonctionnement institutionnel actuel : l’inclusion – parce qu’elle n’est pas effective- est une revendication majeure ; la polarisation est toujours plus grande, avec des positions de plus en plus extrêmes ; la notion d’identité est plus que jamais discutée et parfois abusée ; le citoyen a désormais les moyens pour exercer une réflexion critique, ce qui le pousse parfois à remettre en doute d’autres acteurs ; les politiciens ont de moins en moins de pouvoir et leur impact est moindre face à des instances technocratiques supranationales. Face à ces doutes, une démocratie plus participative et délibérative est présentée comme une solution, comme en témoignent les nombreuses expériences et initiatives citoyennes lancées depuis plus de 10 ans dans toute l’Europe.

Néanmoins, cette nouvelle forme de démocratie n’a pas encore fait toutes ses preuves et encore moins convaincue tout le monde. Le projet EuComMeet souhaite mener une recherche de fond pour comprendre si et comment la délibération peut impacter la prise de décision et les positions de chaque citoyen. Menée pendant plus de 4 ans, sur différentes échelles, sur différents sujets mais toujours à l’aune des 5 tendances évoquées plus haut, l’initiative permettra de mieux appréhender la manière dont la démocratie délibérative peut être plus efficace et mieux comprise et comment la mettre en œuvre de la manière la plus adéquate. A terme, le projet EuComMeet souhaite présenter un « toolkit » sous la forme d’une plateforme (Participatory space) qui serait une référence pour mener à bien des projets délibératifs en Europe.

Modalités de la mission

La première étape (‘Lessons Learned’) de la mission consiste en un référencement et une analyse des différents processus délibératifs ayant eu déjà eu lieu pour saisir les bonnes pratiques et les écueils déjà connus. Il s’agira de faire une mise à plat de l’état actuel de la démocratie participative en Europe, notamment au regard des 5 critères d’analyse : inclusion, polarisation, identité, réflexion et impact politique.

La seconde étape (‘Fill the gap’) est la création et le développement (sur base des enseignements tirés de la première étape) d’un protocole d’ateliers citoyens en ligne combinant des cycles de discussions synchrones et asynchrones sur des thèmes majeurs pour l’avenir de l’Europe. Ce protocole sera d’abord testé dans des lycées et universités des pays sélectionnés : Allemagne, France, Irlande, Italie et Pologne.

Lors de la troisième étape (‘Make it happen’), le test sera réitéré en grandeur nature avec 144 citoyens, répartis dans 2 villes de chaque pays partenaire. Le rôle de Missions Publiques sera ici d’assurer et coordonner la modération des ateliers et le suivi des protocoles établis dans les phases précédentes.

Valeur ajoutée de la démarche

Le projet EuComMeet sera l’occasion pour le monde de la délibération de se poser, de regarder en arrière, pour ensuite savoir vers où on va. Dans un monde de la participation qui avance à toute vitesse, il est possible que nous passions à côté de l’essentiel et que nous nous trompions de chemins ou de méthode. Avoir une recherche approfondie, sur le long terme et – plus important encore- un test à grande échelle permettra de recueillir des renseignements pour tout le monde : les citoyens, les politiciens et les professionnels de la participation.

Le projet a été établi de sorte qu’aucune étape, aucune opportunité de tester des démarches ne soit manquée. Ainsi, la recherche va analyser les attitudes et positions de citoyens très variés : des jeunes, des personnes déconnectées, des personnes aux opinions extrêmes, des personnes avec des handicaps, des personnes présentes sur les réseaux sociaux, etc. De même, dans la méthode, le projet se veut innovant : les citoyens seront mélangés avec des citoyens d’autres villes et d’autres pays, les consultations se feront selon une logique évolutive (du local à l’européen et inversement), seront utilisés également des bots pour la modération et la traduction.  Les citoyens seront mis dans différentes conditions : tantôt modérés, tantôt non modérés, tantôt en synchrone, tantôt en asynchrone, parfois avec des étrangers, parfois avec des nationaux. Les décideurs politiques (locaux, nationaux et européens) ne sont pas oubliés : ils seront associés dès la conception des tests et à l’analyse des résultats. La recherche est donc multiple et réflexive, avec une approche par étape qui permettra de tester différents scénarios et de tirer de nombreuses conclusions.

En chiffres

0
citoyens au sein des ateliers
0
partners et 6 universités
0
échelles (niveau local, national, européen)
0
pays et 10 villes accueillant les ateliers citoyens