EQUALS EU

Date
1 January 2021 - 30 December 2023
Customer
Horizon Europe Programme (European Union Framework Programme for Research and Innovation (R&I) 2021-2027)
Intervention
Organisation and coordination of collective intelligence activities: innovation camps and hackathons; creation of common rules for the smooth running of these events; coordination of the synthesis of results.
With regard to the European objective of gender equality, the EQUALS EU project aims at more inclusion in the field of digital and tech. To achieve this, a consortium of universities and stakeholders in the tech and digital world aims to create solutions and opportunities for the inclusion of women and gender minorities in the tech and digital world through creative processes that use collective intelligence. Technology and digital are flagship areas of society, closely linked to economic, social, political or cultural issues. This project aims to include women and make them truly active in technology and digital.

Context and objectives

Since the beginning of the 21st century, parity has been a challenge for institutions at all levels. This principle of equality has been taken up by the European Union, which requires that projects financed by its structural and investment funds take this issue into account. The principle of parity has even become one of the “horizontal” principles for the programming of European funds from 2014 to 2020. With regard to European ambitions in terms of technology and digital, for example relating to artificial intelligence, the question of gender equality in technology appears to be a priority area of work for the European Union. Indeed, the world of digital and technology remains an almost exclusively male domain.

Therefore, the EQUAL EU project aims to achieve gender equality in technology and digital by involving stakeholders, civil society and also digital and technological actors. The project aims to formalise collective actions of networks of actors and to imagine sustainable local ecosystems of creation and social inclusion such as start-ups, summer camps or entrepreneurial empowerment programmes. The idea of this project is not simply to establish more parity in the digital and technological world, but to create opportunities for the actors of this world to take up the issue of gender equality in an intersectional way, by looking at gender, disability, race, class… The idea is therefore not so much to seek to achieve gender equality, but rather gender equity, which is fairer and more inclusive of the discrimination experienced by each person.

"The EU strategy on gender equality for 2020-2025 calls for a Europe where women and men, girls and boys, are equal, where diversity is a recognised asset for the economy and society, and where women have equal opportunities to participate and thrive in society.

PROCEDURE

As coordinator of the stage of the project that concerns the creation of new solutions for inclusion and equity, the role of Public Missions within the research project is divided into four stages.

  1. Contributing to the design of the various events: establishing the format, structure, materials, methods, team composition rules and the running of innovation camps and hackathons
  2. Coordination of innovation camps for sustainable gender equity practices. Missions Publiques will coordinate the 12 events, with the support of a host organisation, of one day duration in 12 different countries: Norway, Ukraine, Switzerland, Latvia, Turkey, Spain, Serbia, Montenegro, Northern Macedonia, Croatia, as well as two countries outside the European continent. The aim of these innovation camps is to reflect on solutions to achieve gender equity in communication and information technologies. Each event will focus on a specific theme corresponding to the local challenges and needs of its host organisation.
  3. Organisation of hackathons to find inclusion solutions using communication and information technologies. These 12 one-day hackathons will be organised in 12 different countries (Sweden, France, United Kingdom, Belgium, Germany, Israel, Austria, Greece, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Slovenia, and two other countries outside the European continent) with the support of a host organisation. They will aim to develop products and services in the field of tech and digital technologies that integrate gender equity issues. In contrast to innovation camps, hackathons have a more practical focus and may lead the winning teams of the events to be integrated into start-up incubators.
  4. Coordination of the synthesis of the results and evaluation methods of these 24 events (hackathons and innovation camps) in order to feed the roadmap established by the whole consortium around the tools for gender equity in digital inclusion.

OUR ADDED VALUE

The specificity of the project lies above all in the fact that the project partners consider equity – more than equality as explained above – in an intersectional way. This intersectional perspective allows a better consideration in the elaboration of solutions of all the experiences and all the discriminations that women may suffer, whether these discriminations are based on gender as well as on other factors (disability, race, class, sexual orientation, etc).

Moreover, this inclusion process is taking place in a field that is essentially male and often neglected by the players. s s s for gender equality: the digital and tech world. This project is therefore innovative in that it aims to create opportunities for women in this field, but also to advocate for an ungendered professional world where women have the possibility of choosing their profession without having to face gender preconceptions.

Missions Publiques’ aim is to explore in depth the issues of gender equity applied to the world of digital and technology, making use of its experience in the design and organisation of creative processes based on collective intelligence.

key figures

0
partners
0
universities and research institutes
0
events
0
different countries (European and non-European)

EQUALS EU

Date
1 Janvier 2021 - 30 Décembre 2023
Client
Programme Horizon Europe (programme-cadre de l'Union européenne pour la recherche et l'innovation (R&I) pour la période 2021-2027)
Intervention
Organisation et coordination des activités d’intelligence collective : camps d’innovation et hackathons ; création des règles communes du bon déroulement de ces évènements ; coordination de la synthèse des résultats
Au regard de l’objectif européen de parité, le projet EQUALS EU tend à plus d’inclusion dans le domaine du digital et de la tech. Pour ce faire, un consortium d’universités et d’acteurs du monde de la tech et du digital vise à créer, en incluant les concerné.e.s via des processus créatifs faisant appel à l’intelligence collective, des solutions et des opportunités quant à la question de l’inclusion des femmes et minorités de genre dans la tech et le digital. La tech et le digital sont considérées comme des domaines phares de la société, étroitement liés à l’économie, les questions sociales, la politique ou la culture. Ce projet vise à inclure les femmes et à en faire véritablement des actrices de la tech et du digital.

Contexte et objectif

Depuis le début du 21ème siècle, la parité s’annonce comme un défi pour les institutions à toutes les échelles. Ce principe d’égalité a été repris par l’Union Européenne qui demande que les projets financés par ses fonds structurels et d’investissement prennent en compte cette problématique. Le principe de parité est même devenu un des principes « horizontaux » pour la programmation de 2014 à 2020 des fonds européens. Au regard des ambitions européennes en matière de technologie et de digital, par exemple relatives à l’intelligence artificielle, la question de l’égalité des genres dans la tech apparaît comme un axe de travail prioritaire pour l’Union Européenne. En effet, le monde du digital et de la tech reste un domaine presque exclusivement masculin.

De ce fait, le projet EQUAL EU vise à tendre vers l’égalité des genres dans la tech et le digital par l’implication des concerné.e.s, de la société civile mais aussi des acteurs du digital et de la tech. Le projet a pour but de formaliser des actions collectives de réseaux d’acteurs et d’imaginer des écosystèmes locaux durables de création et d’inclusion sociale comme des start-ups, des camps d’été ou des programmes d’empowerement entrepreneurial. L’idée de ce projet n’est pas simplement d’établir plus de parité dans le monde du digital et de la tech mais de créer des opportunités pour que les acteur.rice.s de ce monde s’emparent de la question de l’égalité des genres et ceci de façon intersectionnelle, en croisant le regard sur le genre, le handicap, la race, la classe… L’idée n’est donc pas de tant de rechercher à atteindre une égalité de genre mais une équité de genre, plus juste et plus intégrant les discriminations vécues par chacune.

"La stratégie de l’UE pour l’égalité des genres 2020-2025 appelle à une Europe où les femmes et les hommes, les filles et les garçons sont égaux, où la diversité est un atout reconnu pour l’économie et la société, et où les femmes ont des chances égales de participer et de prospérer dans la société.

Modalités de la mission

En tant que coordinateur de l’étape du projet qui concerne la création de nouvelles solutions d’inclusion et d’équité, le rôle de Missions Publiques au sein du projet de recherche se divise en quatre étapes.

  1. Contribution au design des différents événements : établir le format, la structure, le matériel, les méthodes, les règles de composition des équipes et le déroulé des camps d’innovation et les hackathons
  2. Coordination des camps d’innovation pour des pratiques durables d’équité de genre. Missions Publiques assurera la coordination des 12 événements, avec l’appui d’une organisation d’accueil, d’une durée d’un jour dans 12 pays différents : Norvège, Ukraine, Suisse, Lettonie, Turquie, Espagne, Serbie, Monténégro, Macédoine du Nord, Croatie, ainsi que deux pays en dehors du continent européen. Le but de ces camps d’innovation est de réfléchir à des solutions pour atteindre l’équité de genre au sein des technologies de communication et d’information. Chaque évènement portera sur une thématique spécifique correspondant aux défis et besoin locaux de son organisation d’accueil.
  3. Organisation des hackathons pour trouver des solutions d’inclusion utilisant les technologies de communication et d’information. Ces 12 hackathons d’une durée d’un jour seront organisés dans 12 pays différents (Suède, France, Royaume-Uni, Belgique, Allemagne, Israël, Autriche, Grèce, Bosnie-Herzégovine, Slovénie, et deux autres pays en dehors du continent européen) avec le soutien d’une organisation d’accueil. Ils viseront à développer des produits et des services dans le domaine de la tech et du digital intégrant les questions d’équité de genre. Contrairement aux innovations camps, les hackathons ont un objectif plus pratique et pourront amener les équipes gagnantes des événements à être intégrées dans des incubateurs de start-ups.

Coordination de la synthèse des résultats et des modalités d’évaluation de ces 24 évènements (hackathons et camps d’innovations) afin de nourrir la feuille de route établie par l’ensemble du consortium autour des outils pour l’équité de genre au sein de l’inclusion digitale.

Valeur ajoutée de la démarche

La spécificité de projet tient surtout en ce que les partenaires du projet envisagent l’équité – plus que l’égalité comme expliqué plus haut – de façon intersectionnelle. Cette perspective intersectionnelle permet une meilleure prise en compte dans l’élaboration de solutions de tous les vécus et toutes les discriminations que peuvent subir les femmes, que ces discriminations soient basées sur le genre comme sur d’autres facteurs (handicap, race, classe, orientation sexuelle, etc).

De plus, cette démarche d’inclusion intervient dans un domaine essentiellement masculin et souvent délaissé des acteur.rice.s agissant en faveur de l’égalité des genre : le monde du digital et de la tech. Ce projet se veut donc innovant en ce qu’il vise à créer des opportunités pour les femmes dans ce domaine mais aussi à plaider en faveur d’un monde professionnel non-genré où les femmes ont la possibilité de choisir leur métier sans faire face à des a priori de genre.

Il s’agit pour Missions Publiques d’explorer en profondeur les questions d’équité des genres, appliquées au monde du digital et de la tech, en mettant à profit son expérience en design et organisation de processus créatifs reposant sur l’intelligence collective.

En chiffres

0
partenaires
0
universités et instituts de recherches
0
évènements
0
pays différents (européens et extra-européens)